Brave

Yes, I made Chocolate Cake the week before finals!
I reached a new level of “stressed” this past month, I have never felt so stressed before. It was so different, I wanted to sleep but couldn’t sleep well or at all because of all the things on my mind.

So my finals ended last Thursday and I attended a women’s conference on Sunday. I had been planning on attending two conferences and then didn’t prepare for either but luckily my brother paid for the one so I still went. 

Some people think that a conference or Bible Retreat are the best ways to de-stress, but I want to be pretty clear. If someone tells you they don’t think they can go to something because they have a lot to do, don’t tell them to suck it up and go anyways. You know why? I fell asleep during the main keynote. 

You may ask “How in the world did you fall asleep during suck an awesome speaker?”

It’s simple.

My soul didn’t need nourishing, it needs rest. 

Yes, this has been the most exhausting and challenging 10 weeks, but I gave it my all and I survived. To give it my all, I prayed and cried out to the Lord with all that was discouraging me and challenging me. I studied the Bible with my closest friend. I counseled others. I was counseled in return. 

So if you ask if I learned how to be brave at the women’s conference on Sunday, I would have to say no, I did not. I did not go to learn how to be brave, I went to fellowship. I am already brave.

Resiliency was my key word for the Winter Quarter, and you know what comes naturally when you are resilient? Bravery. 

You know what I’m taking with me into the Spring Quarter? Everything I already learned and more. I know what I did great and what needs working on. 

I need community not more teachers. I want to commune with other women who have defined bravery in their own ways. I want to be around women who strive to be the best from their families and don’t live in an idealistic Christian world where we pretend everything is all perfect and honky dory. Because Jesus was perfect, we are not. We are sinful, but because we are Christian Women we are brave.

And lastly, I do not need you to tell me how to live my life. Feel free to make suggestions but if I have to do something for the sake of my own sanity in this crazy season of life of life.

Leave a Reply

