Emergency Kit for my Car (College Student Edition)

So I’ve been thinking about emergencies since I’ve been keeping up to date on the most recent floods, road wash outs, and bridge failures that have been happening due to all of our, wonderful & much needed, rain that we’ve been getting in California.

As a kid, my mom always had emergency food and an emergency plan for our family because she’s from New York and she grew up getting snowed in for days at a time in the winter. Being in California it’s a little different because we can have an earthquake at any time. Here I live in Southern California, we are extremely close to a fault and the major faults we live by are the San Jacinto, San Andreas, and the Elsinore faults…

Most people probably don’t know my favorite things to study in science has always been earthquakes and fault lines. Although I’m bad at memorizing all the faults and specifics, knowing that all of the stuff we learned was relevant to our daily lives made it more enjoyable for me.

Anyways…. I’ve been thinking… What will happen if I’m stranded on campus when there is an emergency such as an earthquake? And what happens if all the food places shut down and the freeways are clogged and the safest thing to do is stay in place on campus, possibly hiding out in my car or elsewhere with a few trusted people?

So I am working on getting an emergency kit together that will fit in my car, because he reality is that my campus is not going to have everything we possibly need if we get stuck there, and even then, I don’t know if I will want to be amongst the craziness that the gym or other gathering area will be when the time does come.

To begin with I purchased the “Maxpedetion Fatty Pocket Organizer” to hold some of my stuff in my glove compartment. It cost me roughly $27 on Amazon, and having a birthday gift card from my Uncle’s family made it worth getting. It’s a good size organizer to keep various first aid, and emergency tools in, and it attaches to a tactical backpack or can be clipped onto a normal backpack, which realistically is what I would do.

I also purchased a pocket knife that is a good medium size, the blade is about four inches long max which I believe is the max I would feel comfortable carrying anyways. I’m not a person who would carry a pocket knife on me daily but I do think it’ll be handy to have in my car. This particular knife actually has a seatbelt cutter on it, and I was told by another mom that it’s a must for every parent to have in case of an emergency and your child’s seatbelt fails and will not release you can cut that sucker!

I also bought one of those little paracord bracelet kits…. the buckles are not in any way tactical strength or durability but I wanted to make a few for cheap, so that was a good option. I’m actually going to buy some supplies and do this as a craft with a group of people later in the year…

This is my complete list of what I want to carry for my emergency kit for everyday/college:

  • Maxpedition Fatty Pocket Pouch
  • Pocket Knife
  • Multi-tool like a leatherman
  • Flashlight
  • 12 Glow stick
  • Emergency Blanket
  • Paracord Bracelet/keychain
  • Tylenol/Benadryl
  • Water
  • High Calorie Food Bars/Snacks
  • Hat (I live in the desert 🌵)
  • Pad of paper
  • Pen/pencil
  • Latex gloves
  • Bandaids, assorted
  • Butterfly bandages
  • Gauze
  • Disinfectant
  • Hand Wipes
  • Map
  • Duct Tape
  • Mike Skin bandages for blisters
  • Tampons
  • Hair ties
  • Portable Phone Charger (kept in backpack and out of heat)

So for some reason I cannot find a map of my area that is up to date. I don’t even know where to look at this point, but I need one. If cell towers are down, I’m going to be SOL, I hardly know my way around and if I have to take side streets I’m going to be so lost getting home or anywhere…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

