Authentic Leadership Development

Authentic Leadership Development? How can leadership development not be authentic? I know you are asking these questions because I am asking myself right now if that is the correct way to even lead into what I want to talk about.

When I say “Authentic Leadership Development” I am referring to development of leadership traits within ourselves, specifically when it comes to religious leadership. I think it is fair to say that there are two kinds of leaders, natural born leaders and those who learn along the way; although, both kinds of leaders have a fair share of work and communication skills among many others that need to be developed in order to have effective, longterm leadership.

What does it take to curate, develop and sustain a ministry that lasts 50+ years and grows and changes as it needs to?

I really don’t have the answer for that question, but I am actively seeking it. I would love to be apart of a ministry that lasts the rest of my lifetime. My home church is currently going through some growing pains and part of it is that our Bible study opportunities during the week are lacking. I think through pursuing personal development guided through the Bible and prayer will provide just what we need. I also think that reading devotions and books by other leaders and ministries can be a very inspirational and encouraging way to sort through all the content out there and create the ministries that I dream of.

The first step for authentic leadership in my own life is to dedicate myself to learning and studying the Bible in a way I have never before. I seek truth and understanding. I seek light. And most of all, I seek to create something that leaves a lasting effect on those we interact with in the most authentic way as possible. And the first step to doing that is to remove myself, to remove my pride and to toughen up a little, because when I am doing good works for the sake of the kingdom of God and for no other reasons, and someone gets negative with me, they aren’t rejecting me and my ideas, the are momentarily rejecting holy inspiration.

The second (and following steps) are to work hard, and to adjust when necessary.

Leave a Reply

