My Daily Cup #2: He Hears My Call

img_0085I find it so amazing that someone who designed us down to the tiniest of hairs also knows our entire being. He hears my thoughts, he knows my deepest fears, he even knows when I am at my breaking point. He stretches my limits. Then I pray.

I do pray when I am praising or just need to have a little one-sided chat with him (obviously he is the best listener!)

“The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. He fulfills the desire of those who fear him; he also hears their cry and saves them.”PSALM 145:18-19

I grew up in a Christian family, and my Grandma is profoundly open about her faith. In our family business often she would have chats with customers about life and beliefs always letting them know her true feelings. We had debates with customers who were of other types of faith and we would pray for our customers when asked, if they needed guidance, heeling, or to praise God for something that has happened in their lives.

Among those many instances when Grandma shared her faith, she was sharing it with me. In my immaturity and in my sin, I would become very angry when things didn’t go as they should have. I would often yell at people. I would disrespect my family out of anger. Grandma would point out that I was acting inappropriately and that I needed to behave like a lady of my age and Christ-like.

If God hears me when I pray, then why was I wasting my time yelling at people who didn’t want to hear me? God wants to hear us. He wants us to pray to him. He knows what we are going to pray about before we even do it, but part of the relationship is giving those thoughts and concerns over to him so that he can take care of it for me.

Leave a Reply

