My Daily Cup #1: My Daily Check-In

I don’t want to be a “Sunday Christian”, do you?coffee
A “Sunday Christian” is typically someone who lives however they want during the week and is seemingly perfect when they arrive to church service(s) on Sunday. Although, no one, not even the best Christians are perfect, I believe that if we put the effort in during the week we can definitely provide ourselves with the focus and drive necessary to walk into church service(s) with our heart and minds in the right place.

The difference between being a “Sunday Christian” and an active Christian is as easy as actively communicating with other Christians in a way that is mutually beneficial, such as being prayer buddies. Another way of being an active Christian, that is very important, is to check-in with God meaning prayer.

Ideally, we should check-in with God like we check-in with social media. Often, we can go online and have hundreds of “friends” to interact with. Of those hundreds of friends online, do you have your Christian family, your prayer warriors and your Christian role models as friends? The significance of having these three groups of people as your friends online is that it changes not only what we type but also what sort of feed back we will receive.

Example of an average person on Social Media:

Average Person: “Having a crappy day! I cannot believe all this crap is happening to me?! How can it get worse?”

Average Person’s Friend “That sucks! Me too. Pity party later at my house? I’ll bring the ice cream.”

Okay, so maybe that is not exactly how it would go online… it might be more vulgar or mean but you get my point.

Example of an ideal post by a Christian on Social Media:

Christian Person: “Today was not ideal. I spilt my $5 latte in the car, hit traffic and was late to my business meeting and now on top of it I broke my phone screen rushing to that business meeting!”

Christian Person’s Prayer Friend: “Hey Friend, I’m sorry you are having a rough day. Remember we all have these day from time to time and not only is somewhere out there having a harder day but God has given you these trials to teach you a greater lesson or to strengthen you as a person. If you can, take a second and give it all to God. You know he is the only one that can make a difference in all of this. Praying for you friend!”

When it comes to these sort of frustrating situations the following is a good verse to remember.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

I also recommend finding a daily check-in buddy. I wouldn’t exactly message someone and say “Hey, do you want to be daily check-in buddies?” Instead, I would recommend actually reaching out and developing relationships or nurturing relationships that you al ready have with others. Talk about the good and the bad. Be a good listener (or reader,) respond whole-heartedly, be kind, and pray for them also.

Check in with god

The most important Check-In takes us back to Philippians 4:6-7, continually being in prayer with God. This is the best way to relieve yourself of stress and heartache. We cannot underestimate the significance of building a prayer relationship with God. I feel like my focus verse today is so self explanatory so I will end here.

God Bless You. Have a Great Monday!

Leave a Reply

