First Christmas Together Married

This Christmas has been the most different and the most sad one I’ve experienced yet.
This past weekend we had to put my husbands dog down and it was an unlikely chain of events that were unpleasant that led to this.

Well on top of it, since graduating this spring he’s been struggling to get a job or career started despite having veterans preference and great references and past experience he’s having trouble breaking into his field of expertise/interest.

Then add to it that I’m going to school full time and barely making over minimum wage. But I got better job this April, I’m making more than I was ever before but it’s not much to live off of.

Well at our company we aren’t closed on Christmas, or ever. We are so sucked into this society of consumerism that we have to work on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. To make it worse, I had to close last night and I got to wake up before the sun to work a full shift on Christmas Morning.

Our first Christmas together is sad. Santa didn’t visit us at our house. We opened presents with my parents last night past dark after I got off work. And now with less than 5 hours of sleep I’m at work getting ready to go again. I’m missing two christmas breakfasts, and Christmas dinner. We are driving out to my grandpa’s house after I get off work to exchange ornaments. I have the sweetest husband he’s skipping Christmas dinner so that I won’t have to drive alone. I didn’t even ask him to do that, he offered last night after it was all planned for him to drive out with my family and that I would meet up with them.

I don’t think I could have asked for a better husband, I just wish I could ask for a better Christmas one where no one had to work, people made their own coffee at home and we could all spend time with their families.

Bahumbug… From me in my red and black Christmas hat.

Leave a Reply

